search for books and compare prices
cover image
Social Production of Urban Space
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for Social Production of Urban Space: Hardcover | Paperback
Jump down to see edition details for In the Mouth of the Whale: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Univ of Texas Pr
Publication date March 1, 1985
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780292775862
ISBN-10 0292775865
Availability§ Out of Print
Original list price $32.50
Other format details university press
§As reported by publisher
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: Since its first publication in 1985, The Social Production of Urban Space has become a landmark work in urban studies. In this second edition, M. Gottdiener assesses important new theoretical models of urban space—and their shortcomings—including the global perspective, the flexible accumulation school, postmodernism, the new international division of labor, and the "growth machine" perspective. Going beyond the limitations of these and older theories, Gottdiener proposes a model of urban growth that accounts for the deconcentration away from the central city that began in the United States in the 1920s and continues today. Sociologists, political scientists, economists, geographers, and urban planners will find his interdisciplinary approach to urban science invaluable, as it is currently the most comprehensive treatment of European and American work in these related fields.

Editions
This edition contains multiple works--typically stories or entire novels--that are found in different collections. Below find each work in this edition grouped by how you can find each.
Editions for the work Social Production of Urban Space
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780292775862
 
The price comparison is for this edition
With Paul McAuley | from Univ of Texas Pr (March 1, 1985)
9780292775862 | details & prices | List price $32.50
This edition also contains In the Mouth of the Whale
About: Since its first publication in 1985, The Social Production of Urban Space has become a landmark work in urban studies.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780292727724
 
2 sub edition from Univ of Texas Pr (August 1, 1994); titled "The Social Production of Urban Space"
9780292727724 | details & prices | 6.00 × 9.25 × 1.25 in. | 1.10 lbs | List price $32.95
About: From reviews of the first edition: "This is perhaps the best theoretically oriented book by a United States urban sociologist since the work of Firey, Hawley, and Sjoberg in the 1940s and 1950s.
Editions for the work In the Mouth of the Whale
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780292775862
 
The price comparison is for this edition
With Mark Gottdiener | from Univ of Texas Pr (March 1, 1985); titled "Social Production of Urban Space"
9780292775862 | details & prices | List price $32.50
This edition also contains Social Production of Urban Space
About: Since its first publication in 1985, The Social Production of Urban Space has become a landmark work in urban studies.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780575100756
 
Reprint edition from Victor Gollancz (April 1, 2015)
9780575100756 | details & prices | 376 pages | 5.00 × 7.75 × 1.00 in. | 0.55 lbs | List price $16.95
About: A novel of a savage future war, perfect for fans of Alastair Reynolds and Peter F.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.