search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Poser
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | CD/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Penguin USA
Publication date March 15, 2016
Pages 242
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9780143107958
ISBN-10 014310795X
Dimensions 0.75 by 5.50 by 8.25 in.
Weight 0.45 lbs.
Original list price $16.00
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
Euphoria
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description:

• Named one of the Huffington Post's 2015 Books We Can't Wait To Read •

“Smart and absorbing. . . . Echoes of Steven Millhauser and Tom McCarthy. . . . Probing, witty.” —The New York Times Book Review

“A masterful debut . . . delivered with vaudeville verve.” —The Washington Post

“Darkly funny. . . . A deeply sensitive exploration into matters of identity and authenticity.” —Associated Press

“The Poser is smart and grand and funny, a wonderful fable. Mr. Rubin is a great hope for comic fiction in the 21st century. He’s got the spirit and the ear.” —Sam Lipsyte

A hilarious and dazzling debut novel about a master impressionist at risk of losing his true self

All his life, Giovanni Bernini has possessed an uncanny gift: he can imitate anyone he meets. Honed by his mother at a young age, the talent catapults him from small-town obscurity to stardom.

As Giovanni describes it, “No one’s disguise is perfect. There is in every person, no matter how graceful, a seam, a thread curling out of them. . . . When pulled by the right hands, it will unravel the person entire.” As his fame grows, Giovanni encounters a beautiful and enigmatic stage singer, Lucy Starlight—the only person whose thread he cannot find—and becomes increasingly trapped inside his many poses. Ultimately, he must assume the one identity he has never been able to master: his own.

In the vein of Jonathan Lethem’s and Kevin Wilson’s playful surrealism, Jacob Rubin’s The Poser is the debut of a major literary voice, a masterfully written, deeply original comic novel, and the moving story of a man who must risk everything for the chance to save his life and know true love.




From the Hardcover edition.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780670016761
 
from Viking Pr (March 17, 2015)
9780670016761 | details & prices | 242 pages | 6.25 × 9.50 × 1.00 in. | 0.95 lbs | List price $26.95
Paperback
Book cover for 9780143107958
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Penguin USA (March 15, 2016)
9780143107958 | details & prices | 242 pages | 5.50 × 8.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.45 lbs | List price $16.00
About: • Named one of the Huffington Post's 2015 Books We Can't Wait To Read •“Smart and absorbing.
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781622316625
 
With Robert Fass (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Highbridge Co (March 17, 2015)
9781622316625 | details & prices | 6.00 × 5.50 × 0.75 in. | 0.45 lbs | List price $29.99
About: A hilarious and dazzling debut novel about a master impressionist at risk of losing his true self All his life Giovanni Bernini has possessed an unhealthy gift: he can imitate anyone he meets.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.