search for books and compare prices
cover image
A Primate's Memoir
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
Amazon.co.uk (Marketplace)
1–2 weeks
1–2 days
1 week
Amazon.ca (Marketplace)
1–2 weeks
1–2 days
1 week
ValoreBooks
5–17 days
1–3 days
4–14 days
Alibris
6–17 days
2–3 days
4–14 days
6–16 days
1–2 days
5–14 days
Amazon.com (Marketplace)
5–16 days
1–2 days
4–14 days
eBay (auction)
1–2 weeks
3 days
5–14 days
Amazon.es (Marketplace)
1–2 weeks
1–2 days
1–2 weeks
eBay (Buy It Now)
1–2 weeks
3 days
5–14 days
Amazon.com
1 week
24 hours
6–10 days
Book Depository US
1 week
3 days
1 week
Amazon.ca
1–2 weeks
24 hours
1–2 weeks
Amazon.es
1–2 weeks
2 days
1–2 weeks
Barnes & Noble
2–8 days
1–3 days
1–5 days
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Scribner
Publication date March 5, 2002
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780743202411
ISBN-10 0743202414
Dimensions 0.75 by 5.25 by 8.25 in.
Weight 0.60 lbs.
Original list price $17.00
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
The author offers a memoir of his two decades in the field studying Kenyan baboons as he describes the members of the baboon troop and their behavior and his interaction with the neighboring Masai tribe. (view table of contents)
Amazon.com description: Product Description: In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

“I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780743202473 Book cover for 9780786234325
 
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (August 1, 2001)
9780786234325 | details & prices | 621 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 1.50 in. | 1.65 lbs | List price $28.95
About: “A wild and wondrous account, filled with passages so funny or so brilliant that the reader wants to grab someone by the arm and demand, ‘Hey, you just gotta listen to this.
from Scribner (March 1, 2001)
9780743202473 | details & prices | 304 pages | 6.25 × 9.25 × 1.00 in. | 1.25 lbs | List price $25.00
About: The author offers a memoir of his two decades in the field studying Kenyan baboons as he describes the members of the baboon troop and their behavior and his interaction with the neighboring Masai tribe.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780743202411
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Scribner (March 5, 2002)
9780743202411 | details & prices | 5.25 × 8.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.60 lbs | List price $17.00
About: The author offers a memoir of his two decades in the field studying Kenyan baboons as he describes the members of the baboon troop and their behavior and his interaction with the neighboring Masai tribe.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.